Contact us by

E-Mail: secretary@glsga.org

Phone: 616-780-0341

GLSGA
PO Box 728
Jenison MI 49429-0728

The Great Lakes Senior Golf Association, centered in the greater Grand Rapids, MI area, is made up of golfers

age 50 and over. We currently have over 700 members and conduct approximately 60 tournaments each year.

Welcome to the Great Lakes Senior Golf Association

The big news of the week from Western Greens is our first hole-in-one of the season. Jim Thrall recorded his first personal hole-in-one on hole #8. Jim’s perfect shot was a “slam-dunk.” It flew directly into the hole! Congratulations Jim. The low actual round of the week was a 73 on Thursday by John Gage which included a total of four birdies. The low net scores of the week were a 54 on Wednesday and a 53 on Thursday--both by Paul Foguth. The complete weekly results will be posted by Sunday.

Patrick May, the new owner of Western Greens, is striving to make improvements to the course. Because he started cutting grass on both the fairways and greens shorter we noticed a differentiation between fairways and rough plus an increased speed on the greens. Future plans include the removal and trimming of numerous trees. Comments from players this week were very positive and we look forward to seeing additional course improvements. Great start Patrick!

Specials this coming week at Gleneagle: Chips, pop and chiili dog by Coney Girl for $5.00. For those requiring "swing lubricant," the course is BYOB.

We have a new course offering our members a discount to play: The Falls at Barber Creek. You can find their offer, and those from other courses, on the Special Promotions flyer. Remember, courses offering a discount may place conditions, such as day of the week or time of day, on their offer. Please be aware of these conditions before insisting on a discount.

Our tournaments are filled on a first come, first serve basis. We already have numerous tournaments that are full meaning that entry to those are closed. As soon as we know a tournament is full we post that fact on both the home page of the website (see list to right) and also on the Upcoming Events page.

Please note: Due to a planned aeration of the greens at Pilgrim's Run the last week of September we have modified the schedule in the Regular Division. The event at Pilgrim's Run will now be played on Wednesday, September 21 and Thursday, September 22. As a result, the event at Orchard Hills will be played on Wednesday, September 28 and Thursday, September 29. If you have signed up for either of these events please modify your calendar.

Using the Event Entry Forms: As you are aware, we use a single page event entry form that contains check boxes for all 2016 tournaments, and sections for the annual banquet and 2017 membership fee. After filling out the form, submit with payment, the ENTIRE application. DO NOT CUT UP THE FORM! If you need additional forms they are available on the website and we will have copies at all of our events.

 

GLSGA News

GLSGA member Richard "Sid" Sedlecky passed away unexpectedly Monday, June 20. We also learned of the recent passing of former member Bob Hawley. You can find a link to both Sid's and Bob's obituary on the In Memory page.

Photos from Yankee Springs, Bowen Lake and Western Greens added to the Photograph Page.

The following tournaments are full; entry to these are closed:

Wed, Jun 29; Gleneagle

Wed, Jul 20; Broadmoor

Thu, Jul 21; Broadmoor

Wed, Aug 24; Deer Run

Wed, Aug 31; Deer Run

Wed, Sep 7; Kaufman

Thu, Sep 8; Kaufman

Wed, Sep 14; LE Kaufman

Thu, Sep 15; LE Kaufman

Wed, Sep 21; Pilgrim's Run

Wed, Sep 28; Grand Haven

Mon, Oct 3; Hastings CC

Tue, Oct 4; Hastings CC

Wed, Oct 5; Hastings CC

Thu, Oct 6; Hastings CC

RED text denotes Regular Division; BLUE text denotes Reserve Division; BLACK text denotes combined event.